Explore SFS

Program Structure

The Taxonomic Certification Program was developed by the North American Benthological Society (NABS, now the Society for Freshwater Science) in response to requests from several state and federal government agencies. 

To develop the program, NABS selected an eleven member subcommittee of the Technical Information Committee that convened January 27-29 2002, supported and funded by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA), to discuss the NABS initiative to certify taxonomists. A discussion paper describing this initiative was first published in the Spring 2002 NABS Bulletin (Volume 19, Number 1). Following review of this document, the concept was presented to the Executive Committee of NABS at the annual meeting in Athens in 2003. 

Finally, at the Vancouver meeting the Society decided to appoint a program coordinator and formed the Taxonomic Certification Committee (TCC) to oversee the program. From August 2004 until March 2017, Acadia University and the Acadia Centre for Estuarine Research contracted to host the program with funding received from Environment Canada, U.S. Geological Survey and the USEPA. In March 2017, administration of the program was transferred from Acadia University to Stroud Water Research Center

The Program Coordinator at the Stroud Center reports to the TCC.

Members of the SFS TCC
September, 2012

Please contact Bern Sweeney or John Morse with recommendations for a seat as a committee member

Bern Sweeney (co chair)

Stroud Water Research Center

970 Spencer Road
Avondale, Pennsylvania 19311 USA

Telephone # (610) 268-2153 x222

Email sweeney@stroudcenter.org

John Morse (co chair)

Department of Entomology, Soils, and Plant Sciences
Clemson University

Long Hall, Box 340315
Clemson, South Carolina 29634-0315 USA

Telephone # (864) 656-5049

Email JMORSE@exchange.clemson.edu



Scott Miller

National Aquatic Monitoring Center (WATS)
Utah State University

5210 Old Mill Hill
Logan, UT 84322 5210

Phone: 435 797 2612

Email: scott.miller@usu.edu  

Barry C. Poulton
 

U.S. Geological Survey - Biological Resources Division
Columbia Environmental Research Center


4200 New Haven Road
Columbia, Missouri  65201  USA
 
Telephone # (573) 876-1873

Email: Barry_Poulton@usgs.gov




Richard Mitchell

USEPA Office of Water

1200 Pennsylvania Ave.NW (4305T) 
Washington, DC 20460
 
Email Mitchell. Richard@epa.gov

Stephanie Strachan

Environmental Monitoring Scientist (Biological Assessment) 
Fresh Water Quality Monitoring - Pacific Athabasca Arctic Watershed
Environment & Climate Change Canada

#201 - 401 Burrard Street,
Vancouver BC, V6C 3S5

Telephone # : 604-664-4099

email: stephanie.strachan@canada.ca

 

 

Gary Lester

EcoAnalysts, Inc.

1420 South Blaine St., Ste 14
Moscow, Idaho 83843 USA

Telephone # (208) 882-2588

Email glester@ecoanalysts.com

Mark Wetzel

Illinois Natural History Survey 

Center for Biodiversity
172 Natural Resources Building, MC-652
607 E. Peabody Drive
Champaign, Illinois  61820-6917 USA

Telephone # (217) 244-2108

Email mjwetzel@illinois.edu

 

 

James Glover

SC DEpt. of Health & Environmental Control

2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29223

Telephone # (803) 898-4081

Email: Gloverjb@dhec.sc.gov


James (Sam) Stribling

Tetra Tech, Inc.

10711 Red Run Blvd., Suite 105
Owings Mills, MD 21117 USA

Telephone # (410) 902-3159

Email james.stribling@tetratech.com

 

NABS Logo
SFS-TCP
Membership Services:
254 399.9639 | info@freshwater-science.org